Author Topic: Well water help!  (Read 11895 times)

Zoe

• Bristles
Well water help!
« on: September 16, 2014, 01:33:54 PM »
Here goes. I have limited knowledge of wells, so bear with me.

Initially when we turned on the water it smelled terrible. Stagnant smelling. We've run it down a few times and it smells much, much better. The problem is now it doesn't seem to be refilling (recovering?) water at any kind of decent rate. I can only fill the washing machine (top loader) up once before the water pressure drops to nearly nothing (because the well is about empty, I suppose). I'm not sure there's really anything we can do about it, but I would like to be able to wash a load of laundry. (My mom lives right down the road, so its only a teeny hassle.) We are using bottled water for drinking, brushing teeth, and cooking for now.

Anyone have any advice? The cement around the well has a date of Sept 18, 1946.

MrFrugalChicago

• Bristles
Re: Well water help!
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2014, 02:10:42 PM »
I also have limited knowledge of wells.

My knowledge says that when a well slow downs, it is likely dry. You call a well guy and he can dig your well deeper, or dig a new well. Both are several thousand dollars.

Zoe

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2014, 02:13:45 PM »
Yep, and we don't have that kinda money right now. We just had the whole house rewired.

The house has been vacant for a very long time, so I'm not sure if the well is just not "used" to be run and having to refill. Hey, it makes since in my head :D

Prairie Stash

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2014, 02:19:37 PM »