Author Topic: VTSMX v. USAA UCAGX question  (Read 5448 times)

jimschuler48

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
VTSMX v. USAA UCAGX question
« on: August 13, 2014, 11:25:19 AM »
I’m getting a payout on ESOP of approximately $3300.00 for each of the next five years I need to  roll over.  Being a good former soldier I called USAA and set up an Brokerage account waiting for it to get funded on the August 15th,2014.  My initial plan was to go with VTSMX until I could build it over 10K and then change it to the VTSAX.  Upon talking to one of the “advisors” he suggested the USAA Cornerstone Aggressive fund aka UCAGX.   Having just a peach fuzzy pencil thin mustache I’m biting on the bate and feeling a 1.86% ratio before and reimbursement and 1.26% after is sounding OK if the return is above the S&P Index  like he states.  Of course this is compared to Vanguards low fees.  My gut is telling me he is just trying to sell his loaded Mutual Fund.

I already have my 401K at work fully funded and have switched those to a Vanguard Index, Black Rock Index fund and a small percentage in a Vanguard Bond Index after seeing all the fees I was paying via Personal Capitol.  I kind of looked at this ESOP as house money that I wasn’t counting on.  Mrs. Peach Fuzz gave me the Vanguard speech of Financial Freedom Through Dadassity (Bless her) so that is why I figured this might be a moment to ask the opinion of the forum.  I have no debt except the house and my wives small clown car which is my tradeoff for Mustacheian ways.
Bottom line; VTSMX or UCAGX?

frugalnacho

• Walrus Stache
Re: VTSMX v. USAA UCAGX question
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2014, 12:20:49 PM »
When I look at UCAGX on google or yahoo finance I can't go back further than June 13, 2012.  Looks like the fund was created then?  That's not much historical data to go on.

And plotting the UCAGX vs VTSAX over that time period shows VTSAX way ahead.

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2014, 12:30:36 PM »