Poll

Should I take the demotion?

Yes
9 (52.9%)
No
8 (47.1%)

Total Members Voted: 16

Voting closed: April 18, 2021, 09:10:47 AM

Author Topic: Voluntary Demotion for Work/Life Balance?  (Read 1915 times)

youngatheart

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Voluntary Demotion for Work/Life Balance?
« on: April 10, 2021, 11:07:37 AM »
Hey All-

I'm in a bit of a quandary regarding my current and future employment.  This topic may be better suited as a case study, but I'll drop it in here first . Long post.  Here goes:

Current work situation: 

-I am currently a single unit manager in a very good veterinary practice.  I have been for nearly a decade.  I work for a great company with great benefits.  My current location is about 45 miles/50 min away from my home.  I am a salary, but nonexempt associate.  The practice discourages overtime, especially expensive hospital leader overtime so my work week is routinely capped at 40 hrs + 10 or so hours of commute.  I make $65,000 w/ bonus potential of up to 20% of my salary.  2020 was a good year and we bonused at the full 20%.  Most years it's around 10%. 

-Work environment is not the greatest.  I work with at least one very mood DVM that is hardly ever held accountable for their behavior by upper management - mostly due to the practice wide desperation for DVM retention to maintain growth.  As it stands, they write their own ticket.  I don't see it changing any time soon.  I have worked with very level-headed DVMs in the past - I know they exist.  This is just my current situation.

-My work schedule is not flexible right now due to current staffing.  We're working to fix this, but it will take a few months to feel the effects.

Current life situation: