Author Topic: Vehicle Advice for 3 carseats  (Read 2677 times)

stash-lite

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Vehicle Advice for 3 carseats
« on: July 03, 2019, 09:38:34 AM »
Hey all,

I currently have a 2013 chevy cruze at 60k miles, paid off, which carries my two four-year-olds in their carseats.  We are now expecting a baby in January (yay!) and I am not sure if I really want to try to get the super-skinny carseats to fit 3 carseats into the backseat of this. 

Does anyone have any recommendations for vehicles that are good for 3 carseats?  or experience fitting 3 carseats into a compact car?

Here is some other info or constraints I have:
-Our other vehicle is a minivan, so we already have one larger vehicle for towing our pop up camper and transporting stuff
-I am not a mechanic and do not want a vehicle that could be a 'project', so I like to have very reliable vehicles under 100k miles if at all possible.  I also dont want to risk breaking down in the next couple years on the side of the road with anything besides a flat tire while I could be carrying 3 kids with me.
-My driving is pretty minimal.  Work is 7 miles each direction so I only drive this vehicle about 7k miles per year or so.  I do have to take the kids to school many mornings so I can't bike to work everyday (but I do occasionally). 

thanks in advance!!! 

Stan

slappy

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Vehicle Advice for 3 carseats
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2019, 01:14:18 PM »
What are your concerns on not getting the super skinny seats? I have three across in my Subaru outback and i like it. I rarely have all three kids at once, and if I do, it's not long distances.

erutio

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2019, 01:39:38 PM »
First, congrats on your new baby!

Second, you're on MMM forums.  Do you think anyone is going to recommend a new car to fit 3 carseat across vs just buying the super skinny carseats?