Author Topic: Variable Universal Life Insurance-Did 2013 me fall for a scam?  (Read 5021 times)

greggieP3

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Variable Universal Life Insurance-Did 2013 me fall for a scam?
« on: September 14, 2016, 03:42:41 PM »
Hi Mustachian friends, first time poster hoping for some advice to either stop worrying or quickly fix a (likely) mistake I made about 3 years ago. Here's the background info: (apologies in advance for the length)

I graduated college in December 2012 at age 22 with no student debt, an innate desire to live within my means, and a steady $40,000 entry-level job. I decided I'd like to start saving for retirement in addition to contributing 4% to my company 401(k), which was the level required for a 3.5% employer match.

So, in August 2013, being young, impressionable, inexperienced, and totally ignorant about investing, a friend/former college classmate convinced me to take out a Variable Universal (Cash Value) Life Insurance policy with the company he worked for.

He said that the policy was designed to supplement retirement savings, and that the "cash value" component would grow over time. I had some reservations given the general reputation of the insurance industry, but since he was a friend and genuinely nice guy (and good salesman), I signed up for $500/month.

Because of that, I currently receive:

-$600,000 worth of life insurance
-a lifetime guarantee that my coverage will be based on the physical I took as a healthy 23 year-old
-In my friend's words, a conservative projection that my $6,000/year contribution will grow to just under $500,000 by the time I'm 60, in the year 2050.

Here's are the caveats:

-The money doesn't start to grow exponentially until the policy has been in effect for many years
-The "guaranteed" growth by 2050 is only $277,000 (I've recently read that these policies often don't live up to their projections)
-I'm not projected to break even until I've contributed to the policy for 13 years ($78,000 contributed)