Author Topic: Vanguard Individual 401k - traditional or roth? Need some advice.  (Read 6183 times)

webguy

• Bristles
I'm opening an individual 401k through Vanguard as I work as a freelancer on the side of my day job and am trying to capitalize on any tax-sheltered investment space I can - I've maxed out my IRA and my day job doesn't offer a 401k. Vanguard offers both a traditional and roth. I was leaning towards the roth but I know that with the traditional you can make contributions as both an "employer" and "employee", whereas a roth only allows you to contribute as an "employee". I'm currently only making about 12-15k a year as a freelancer but my goal is to up this significantly in a few years time - to closer to 50-60k a year.

I believe the contribution limit for the roth is 17.5k a year, whereas a traditional would allow up to 51k due to both employee and employer contributions. I was leaning towards the roth but as I'm aiming to invest 50k per year the traditional plan allows me to save more of my money in a tax-sheltered vehicle. If I made 50k for example, I could save about 30k in a traditional (17.5 + 25% of 50) versus 17.5k in a roth.  If this is the case then surely the traditional makes more sense if I'm making over 17.5k a year in self-employed income, right?

Or would it make sense to open a roth now while I'm making less than 17.5 a year and the convert it into a traditional later? (Can I do that??)

Just wondered if anyone has been in this same situation or has any advice for me?

Many thanks in advance!

Left

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Vanguard Individual 401k - traditional or roth? Need some advice.
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2013, 05:00:08 AM »
just wondering myself, can I buy into vanguard through scottrade? is there a minium investment for it?
https://personal.vanguard.com/us/whatweoffer/mutualfundinvesting/accounts