Author Topic: Values clarification, or what is the point of all this money?  (Read 4454 times)

SimpleCycle

• Handlebar Stache
Values clarification, or what is the point of all this money?
« on: October 04, 2019, 01:17:32 PM »
Edit: This post is from October 2019, update at the bottom.

I'm looking for some feedback on our current situation, and advice from anyone who has been where I am before.

DW (42) and I (39) have two children (2 and 4).  She is a data scientist earning big money, and I am a healthcare analyst earning about a third of what she earns.  I've been FIRE-curious and frugal for a long time - I was a poster on the Simple Living Forums in the early 2000s.  Part of what has motivated this is that I've never found my place in the workplace.  DW on the other hand is very career motivated and doesn't have much interest in the RE part of FIRE, even though she understands and endorses the benefits of being FI.

We've always saved a lot, but we've never closed in on FIRE, mostly due to lifestyle inflation that has occurred along the way.  We met as grad students and shared similar money values, but once we moved to the city we've done a certain amount of situational lifestyle inflation (too much eating out) and intentional lifestyle inflation (we wanted a SFH for our family).

We live a pretty big fancy lifestyle right now.  We're still frugal in many areas (cook at home, pack work lunches, swap babysitting with neighbors, one car family) but the big stuff (housing, daycare, travel) is what is holding us back from FIRE.  All told, we are probably 6-8 years away from FI using our current saving and spending, and possibly longer to RE because we have to contend with healthcare options.