Author Topic: Using a 401(k) to clear debt and start (re)saving/investing  (Read 3963 times)

bigkid70

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Using a 401(k) to clear debt and start (re)saving/investing
« on: August 07, 2015, 08:29:22 PM »
Hi,

I'm new to MMM, but the philosophy has definitely struck a chord. I plan on making some major changes to my spending saving habits to start aggressively paying down my two major debts: one credit card @ ~25K (3.74% interest rate) and my school loans @ ~31K (~5% interest). My question is this:

Is it worth considering taking the money I need to pay off these balances out of my 401(k)? I know I'd take a heavy hit for the early withdrawal, but my rationale is/was I could use the money freed up each month from no longer having those payments to build the 401(k) back up (or put that money, plus more, into some other investment vehicle).

Is this just a terrible idea?

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
Re: Using a 401(k) to clear debt and start (re)saving/investing
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2015, 08:30:03 PM »
Yes it is a terrible idea.

Mr. Green

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2015, 08:31:11 PM »
Yes it is a terrible idea.
+1. It will do more damage than good.

Zx

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2015, 09:23:56 PM »
I agree that it isn't a smart idea. My wife and I did that a couple years back, before we found this way of life (I came to it through Jeremy and Winnie).

We took 24k out, paid off everything. In six months we had 20k in cc debt again PLUS we got hammered on taxes. So no, don't do it!

GetItRight

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2015, 12:50:33 AM »