Author Topic: University Student Thinking About A Side Business During Summer  (Read 4231 times)

tkirk62

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello Mustachians,

I am a university student and my summer job doesn't pay too well. But the bosses are going to write me great references and the hours are ideal for allowing me to do volunteer work or anything else around work. The hours I work are 7:30-4 Monday to Friday.

Because the money for the otherwise very good job doesn't really jive with my early financial independence goal, I have often thought about starting some sort of small side business. I would prefer the experience of running something myself, something I have control over and the freedom to do it my way. I really like the idea of growing the side business into a real success that I can do over multiple summers while in school, maybe even a little during the school year and then continue doing once I am out of school working full time and if I am lucky, do it on my own schedule in early retirement.

So I am asking you mustachians if you had any experience with similar ventures, and for your ideas for good side businesses to run? I live and work in a small rural town in Canada.

I have really mulled over two ideas of my own.

The first would be to do driveway asphalt sealing. I could start this one with nothing more than a paint roller and the actual sealant. After some success I could move up to a full tank and sprayer. I have an uncle who does this for a living who could help me out maybe with the equipment and show me the ropes.

The second would be selling ice cream by bicycle. This I think would take an initial investment for a trike with a freezer on it (not sure I could rig one myself), but after that the only cost would be the ice cream and maybe electricity or dry ice.

Both ideas would be best for weekends as the driveway sealing needs perfect weather and the ice cream would be best during the hottest parts of the day, but both could be done after work as well.