Author Topic: Understanding Electricity and Solar Energy  (Read 2579 times)

civil4life

• Bristles
    • My Journal
Understanding Electricity and Solar Energy
« on: January 24, 2019, 11:09:36 AM »
I am not sure if this is best posted here or the DIY section.  I put it here and figured someone could tell me if it is better question for the DIY section.

First I am a licensed Civil Engineer that works in transportation.  I say this to let you know that I am not someone without any technical background at all.  However Electrical Concepts have always completely baffled me.  I have no idea why I cannot grasp the various concepts.  I even took an electrical engineering course in college, but I pretty much relied on a friend to pull me through it. 

This is where I need some help.

I am looking into buying my dad a solar kit that he could use for running a pool pump and/or use as a secondary energy source for his camper.

I would like to understand the various specifications in order to purchase a system that will provide the energy necessary.

Could you please explain in layman’s terms Voltage, Amps, Current, Watts etc.  How they are all related and their relevance in how they meet the various product specifications.

And/Or

Point out videos, tutorials, or other resources that will explain these things.

Thank you in advance.

CowboyAndIndian

• Handlebar Stache
    • KOWines: Deep discount wine/spirits store.
Re: Understanding Electricity and Solar Energy
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2019, 11:25:27 AM »
@Syonyk should be able to help. He has a sweet setup where he runs his home office off a solar/battery setup.

Here is his blog https://syonyk.blogspot.com/

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2019, 11:42:31 AM »
Could you please explain in layman’s terms Voltage, Amps, Current, Watts etc.  How they are all related and their relevance in how they meet the various product specifications.