Author Topic: Underemployed millennial seeks job acquiring bad-ass skills  (Read 6086 times)

arielcole

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Miss Financial Freedom
Underemployed millennial seeks job acquiring bad-ass skills
« on: August 19, 2015, 06:39:58 PM »
I didn't get one of those fancy degrees that lands you a sweet job out of school, I got a Psychology degree, with the ever so useful Art minor. So now I live in my parents basement, owe the government 20k, and work for a mediocre manufacturing company (customer service) making 30k/year. I started the year off with 27k in debt; living at my parents house enabled me to pay 7k off while still stashing some cash in a 401(k) so that's good, but I'm still just semi-stuck, semi-broke, and really miserable. I'm in the "Portland metro area" making 13.00 dollars an hour, hating my job and wishing I was a million other places.

I want a SWEET job. I want to do something creative: design, marketing, product development. I want to be engaged, excited, stoked, even semi passionate about what I do, I work hard, I love to work, I WANT to work. I apply for jobs weekly but I'm just another millennial resume in the sea of other millennial resumes, with the population of Portland increasing 6% every year I'm competing against (what feels like) the whole country for entry level jobs.

I want to be somewhere smaller like, Boulder, Missoula, Truckee, Boise, Bend, I hate the big city, but if I can't even land a job here, how will I ever land a job one of those places? Will someone hire me?

How do I get a sweet job? Do I move somewhere first and then find a job there? Do I keep trolling Craigslist? Do I start my own company (mountain bike apparel)? Do I go back to school and get an MBA or a graphic design degree or something. What gives! Tell me your bad ass secrets for finding a job that actually makes living feel okay.

Kaikou

• Pencil Stache
  • Kermit is like a box of chocolates