Author Topic: Two steps forward, four steps back due to medical debt.  (Read 7225 times)

canisius

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Two steps forward, four steps back due to medical debt.
« on: December 15, 2012, 10:26:09 AM »
My wife and I are looking for advice.  We made some mistakes when we first started to FI, a bit too much of Ormen and Ramsey and not enough effort towards MI.  However, due to medical accidents we had pretty much our entire medical savings wiped out over the past three years (as we had left debt).  I had a fractured skull due to an accident, daughter had an infection with her eye that left partial blindness and wife had a car crash.   Some of this was covered by high deductible plan, however as I'm a school teacher and our insurance plan begins each year in August, our insurance company rebegin the year Out of pocket expenses, thus having us start again.  We had no other way to pay for it, after savings was depleted, except for hospital loans.  In addition, both wife and I took higher paying jobs at a charter school to help.  We feel we'll be fine long-term financially, but if anyone can give us advice short term, it would help.  Daughter has surgery in January ($2000) and July ($1200), wife is pregnant and will give birth in March ($1400).  We hope to move closer to our new work (which was taken after we renewed our lease on current home).  This will save us about $500 a month in August, including car and rent and food (cheaper area), but also will be about $1100 for deposit (before we regain our current deposit on this house).  In addition, as we're Peruvian immigrants, renewal for permanent residency is in July which will run about ($3000) for all three of us.