Author Topic: Twenty Percent House Downpayment Question  (Read 7815 times)

cabeasle

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Twenty Percent House Downpayment Question
« on: November 08, 2014, 08:18:50 AM »
Good morning everyone.  There is a wealth of information being thrown around on these forums, and I'm hoping someone would be so kind as to help me out with a home-buying/investment question.  I am a fairly limited-experience invester (Vanguard low-maintenance funds only).

I am looking in to buying a house.  I don't think I want to live in the area I am in forever, but I can't foresee myself leaving any time soon (<5 yrs) as my family is in the area, and I do not have any job prospects elsewhere at the moment.  I have been renting for about seven years now, and I feel like it may be time to start building up some equity, as a fully paid for house will significantly improve my chances to FIRE.

My question is: I do not have enough cash on hand to pay the 20% recommended downpayment.  If I fully shifted my savings to this goal (forsaking 401k, etc), I could probably get there in a year or two.  However, I "do" have enough to cover that amount currently in a taxable account through Vanguard (started before I knew how to take advantage of non-taxable accounts).  Since the market has been doing so well lately, would it be a good idea to sell the needed shares for the house downpayment (and pay the subsequent tax bill) to take advantage of the recent market gains?  Or would it be better to let the money ride, and just start saving aggressively for the next year or so, stopping investments to the 401k and IRA until I have enough for the downpayment?

I'm leaning towards pulling the money out of Vanguard, but I've never sold shares before and am, frankly, a bit intimidated by it.  I'd appreciate any thoughts you guys have.

frugaliknowit

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Twenty Percent House Downpayment Question
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2014, 08:41:55 AM »