Author Topic: Turned down offer to go perm. Am I doing life wrong?  (Read 4584 times)

Bearblastbeats

Turned down offer to go perm. Am I doing life wrong?
« on: May 22, 2014, 09:06:32 PM »
Hello all,

I have been working at an engineering firm as a CAD tech for about 4 months now. I have been contracted out through a temp-to-hire agency. During the initially interview back in Feb which landed me the job, I mentioned the idea for me to continue my education this coming fall. They stated that within the benefits package they would pay towards going to school and health etc...

Now as appealing as all of that sounds, I chose to decline yesterday's offer to go permanent.

My issues here are:
1. I have a more architectural background with my all ready degree, where as I was solely hired for my CAD ability and IT/Programming skills. The company is an engineering firm.

2. I only have an associates and the cheapest architectural school is 2 hours from the job I currently have. It's one or the other. And I really want my BS.

3. I have been getting severe anxiety at this current job because its way more corporate than I am used to and I never really feel like I fit.

4. They offered me $3 less an hour to what I am currently making to come on board. With that much of a pay cut, it would hardly cover the gas (1 hour each way) it costs me to commute.

Am I screwing up wanting to pursue my goals and dreams and even though going to school and being poor for two more years will be tough, there is always that promise to a better quality of life?

former player

• Walrus Stache
Re: Turned down offer to go perm. Am I doing life wrong?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2014, 02:39:01 AM »