Author Topic: Turbo Tax vs CPA?  (Read 64347 times)

VioletVixen

• Stubble
Turbo Tax vs CPA?
« on: January 16, 2015, 05:46:05 PM »
How do you all feel about Turbo Tax? Do you think you save more or less by using it vs paying a professional? Does the software truly catch all possible savings/deductions?

Also, can I open and contribute the max to an IRA before April 15th and deduct that from my 2014 earnings? How do I open an IRA?

Thanks!

Yankuba

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Turbo Tax vs CPA?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2015, 05:56:42 PM »
If you have an uncomplicated return there is no reason to pay for a CPA. I have friends who use CPAs because the CPAs are shady and get them deductions they don't really deserve but that only really works if you itemize and you want to be dishonest.

Cheddar Stacker

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2015, 06:04:29 PM »
Hi,

I'm an unshady CPA. No software or person can gaurantee you will get all possible savings/deductions. You are your best advocate, so you shoulld educate yourself.

If it's an easy return, turbotax is your friend.

Ira contributions must be made by 4/15. You can't deduct a Roth IRA, but you can deduct a traditional, unless you made too much money. Just google for the income limits.

daverobev

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2015, 06:38:53 PM »
Or even... do a paper return, reading all the instructions...

StubbledCPA

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2015, 06:44:28 PM »
I'm also an unshady CPA (unless you count my 5 o'clock shadow, ba-dum-tis). 

Just like CS said, if your return isn't too complicated, I have no problem recommending TurboTax.  Out of respect for others, I wouldn't even offer them my services if all they had was some W-2s and simple interest / dividend income.  Once you start getting into owning separate businesses or other matters, then a CPA can definitely come in handy.