Author Topic: Trying to decide what to do next for work  (Read 3627 times)

AmyGarfield

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Trying to decide what to do next for work
« on: June 29, 2013, 02:51:11 PM »
I know this is a very personal decision, but I'm just throwing it out there to see what kind of advice I get. :)

I am a teacher who stayed home to raise my children for over 8 years. When our youngest was in first grade, I began subbing. Since then, for the past two years, I have done two long-term subbing jobs which pay quite well for temporary work (it comes to about $25 an hour).

I am currently looking for a job and hoping to find a part-time preschool or kindergarten job. This would allow me to teach, garner high wages albeit at half-salary, keep my résumé current, and do something I enjoy. I've had two wonderful interviews recently, and was told by both principals that I missed getting hired by a very narrow margin. They could offer me no negative criticism about my candidacy, so I suspect I may not have been hired due to my age and the corresponding higher salary my experience would demand according to the union contracts. Or maybe I just wasn't right for them. All I know is that I've never had trouble getting jobs before.  I have an application out for one more half-time job and hoping third time will be the charm.

Failing that, (because getting a teaching job in my area is VERY difficult right now, and the part time jobs are as rare as can be) I have the option to do more long term subbing for say, half the school year or less, OR I can look for permanent work in education at a lower pay rate. This means working as a teaching assistant, tutor, or paraprofessional, as they are called.

I am going to be honest and admit that I have a hard time letting go of my professional autonomy. At 47, I don't think I can take orders from other teachers if I were to take a job as an assistant.