Author Topic: Travelling to Italy for a wannabe mustachian?  (Read 5200 times)

TOSkier

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Travelling to Italy for a wannabe mustachian?
« on: October 25, 2015, 01:54:24 PM »
Hi guys,

I'm new to the mustachian lifestyle. Over the past 3 months I've gone debt-free, moved from no savings to 50%, and made major changes to my investment strategy to improve my odds of early retirement.

About six months ago I got plane tickets to Italy for me and some friends. We leave in spring 2016 for 2 weeks. I'm worried about two things:

The vacation is a cultural experience, so I don't want to cut culture to save a few dollars. For example, we're planning to see the opera; I got cheap tickets for under $30 ea. I also want to discover Italian-cooked food, and visit the historic sites. My savings will definitely go down during this time, but I believe the memories we create will be worth the cost. Am I being reasonable to myself? What Would a Mustachian Do (WWMD)?

I also don't want to be a pain in the @$$ to my travel partners. If I say "Hey guys, let's go buy some groceries and pack a lunch today" to my non-mustachian friends, I'm imposing my values on them. On the other hand, it's a two week trip, and in Europe, there's no upper limit on dining costs. What's a fair way to handle this?

Any other tips?

MrStash2000

• Stubble
Re: Travelling to Italy for a wannabe mustachian?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2015, 04:30:05 PM »
I travel to Europe almost every year and I have a +60% savings rate. I am traveling to Italy with my wife for 11 days this year. Honestly I would not worry about it as the biggest expenses are the plane ticket and logging. Prices in Europe are not crazy. You will spend more than what you do in the states but not by all that much. Dinner can easily be had for less than 10 euros. Sandwich shops are everywhere and lunch will cost you less than 5. Public transportation is everywhere. Take trains and buses. Do not rent a car.