Author Topic: Travel rewards in 2 player mode  (Read 1163 times)

jo552006

• Stubble
Travel rewards in 2 player mode
« on: April 22, 2021, 09:39:40 AM »
Hi all,

If there are posts or stickies I have missed on this (I suspect there are) I'd love to be pointed in the right direction.

My wife and I are looking towards travel rewards for the first time (in lieu of cash back) as she will need to travel for work with her new job and I am just learning how that may be more valuable than cash back cards.  What I've learned so far is that you REALLY need to start with a plan in order to maximize bonuses and get the best value.  This is largely but not entirely due to Chase's 5/24 rule if I understand correctly.  We are looking to save up points for the next 2 to 3 years before we start spending them.

I am working on trying to figure out a long term strategy but would really like to know where to start since we have some fairly big purchases coming up.  Additionally I have a few of pointed questions I was hoping for help getting answers to, with likely more to come as I learn more.

Current situation: Wife's company will reimburse up to $500 on a single card AS LONG AS the card provides some benefit to the company.  Typically this means they want her to get airport lounge access so that she can work while traveling.

Questions:
1. What card should we start with?  Given the $500 reimbursement I was thinking to start by having her get the Chase Sapphire Reserve.  It's a card we would plan on keeping open as long as she is working for the company she is, and possibly thereafter due to the 1.5x point redemtion value.

2. With accrued points/miles/rewards, etc. How do you prevent them from expiring?  My understanding is that with Chase all you need is to keep the card (or cards) that currently house your ultimate rewards points open.  Is this true?  With American express I read that the rules were different but I don't really know how.