Author Topic: Travel rewards help - specific travel needs and spending pattern  (Read 6537 times)

ZiziPB

• Magnum Stache
I am a complete newbie to travel rewards even though my DD and I travel quite a lot.  But so many mustachians seem to be taking advantage of it that I am now intrigued.  So please help me make the best of this situation. 

Both DD and I have linked BA travel accounts as we both fly on BA (she at least 2x per year from US to UK).  Currently around 10K avios in the account.  DD is a 21 YO student.  Not sure if she would be able to get a CC if she applied (has no income).  I have excellent credit and generally use a 2% cash back card for all my spending.

Travel needs over the next 2 years:
- at least 2 round trip tickets for either Boston or NYC to Edinburgh for DD
- at least 1 round trip ticket from either Boston or NYC to Moscow for DD

Spending:
- will be paying DD's tuition over the next few months and her university accepts credit cards - that should be around $7K but it will be a foreign transaction so need a card that doesn't charge foreign transaction fees
- may also be paying for DD's residence fees - probably another $8K (foreign transaction)

I always pay my CCs in full and have funds set aside to cover these transactions.

It seems like the BA Chase card would be a good first step for me.  But then what???

ZiziPB

• Magnum Stache
Re: Travel rewards help - specific travel needs and spending pattern
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2015, 01:45:09 PM »
bumping to see if anyone can offer any suggestions

Catbert

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2015, 02:28:47 PM »
A quick look at MMM Recommends (CC tab) shows the following cards you might want to consider for the sign up bonus:

Barclaycard Arrival Plus World Elite MC:  spend 3k in 3 months and get $400 in travel credits

Capital One Venture Card:  3k spend in 3 months for $400 in travel credits