Author Topic: Travel hacking/miles Advice--Lisbon  (Read 1740 times)

MountainTown

• Bristles
Travel hacking/miles Advice--Lisbon
« on: April 01, 2018, 08:58:15 PM »
So, my wife has really wanted to goto Lisbon for a few months and I am doing my best to travel hack it. Recently I found some tickets around $1500 cash price for 60,000 miles(delta). I am very new to travel hacking but to me that's an impressive redemption? Am I right?

We use delta mainly right now because we are in midwest/mountain region that is pretty Delta heavy and mostly we travel midwest to see friends/family.

Here is my issue. I have 100,000 miles. My wife has 20,000. I am concerned that these flights will sell out because I have seen them do so in the past. That being said...they came back up again...maybe they will come up soon? I am attracted to them because

a.) To me it looks like about a 3: 1 redemption value
b.) The layovers are efficient/smooth. Others I have seen were 8 hour layovers --NO THANK YOU
c.) I realize there are other places but my wife has family in Lisbon
d.) Delta is what we have now

Ok so obviously I can't buy my tickets both on my account right now so here are my options

1.) Buy my ticket with miles and pay about $1,500 cash(with delta cc) for hers
2.) Transfer her 15k to me and buy both with miles. Given the fees, we will ultimately get hers for $180(transfer fee) + 115(Redemption fee) = $295. Still a pretty good redemption value in my opinion if you consider both tickets
3.) Travel hack one more starwood card to get 30,000 miles. This will take at least 3 months and runs the risks of those redemptions not being available again

**Important to note that this ticket redemption is at least 5-6 months away.