Author Topic: Travel hacking  (Read 8613 times)

meadow lark

• CM*MW 2023 Attendees
  • Walrus Stache
Travel hacking
« on: December 05, 2012, 10:31:16 AM »
I am trying to add more travel to my life, without derailing my financial goals.   I am new to the airline miles game, but I am finally in a position where I have the time and energy to actually work on this.  We got a South West card and a United card in July, and have paid for 5 round trip tickets to see family with points so far.
  Any tips?  I am trying to read blogs for ideas.  I would love to figure out how to pay my mortgages with credit cards!  So far we have 3 mortgages, so that could add up fast.

chicagomeg

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Travel hacking
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2012, 11:50:32 AM »
You should check out FatWallet.com for tips on this stuff. They're crazy about it over there...I don't think there's a way to pay your mortgage with them though, at least not that I've seen.

mustachecat

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2012, 07:01:25 PM »
I'm definitely curious about travel hacking. Still regret not signing up for that 50K + 50K bonus British Airways card that was floating around a while back...

mushroom

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2012, 11:02:33 PM »
I wrote a little about this on the "genius idea for high interest checking" thread yesterday.

Short version: Yes, you can use the new Bluebird system as a way to pay for your mortgage with a credit card.

You can read more about it here: http://thepointsguy.com/2012/11/top-10-ways-to-maximize-miles-and-points-with-pre-paid-reloadable-and-gift-cards/ and http://thepointsguy.com/2012/10/new-american-express-bluebird-card-huge-potential-points-earning/

Although I do think the Vanilla Reload cards are in short supply in certain areas and stores, so you'd want to check on availability in your area before you go this route.