Author Topic: Traditional, Roth, or Taxable Acct. advice  (Read 5717 times)

TheChzBurger

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Traditional, Roth, or Taxable Acct. advice
« on: December 03, 2016, 07:37:41 PM »
Hi,  I'm new to MMM and have being reading a lot about ER and different strategies. I'm looking for some advice on where to put extra money to invest.   Traditional IRA,  Roth IRA, or Taxable?

Backgound: My wife and I are both 26, have an annual household income of 70K(pre-tax) and want to go into ER around 45 but will both still work part-time. We both contribute 5% and our employers match 5% to our 401Ks.  We've both contributed to a roth IRA in the past but are not currently. We bought a house last year and are making extra payments to pay that off in 8 years.  After those extra payments and our other expenses we'll have around $4k to invest a year until the mortgage is paid. After the mortgage is paid we should be able to invest $22k a year.

Looked into putting it into a traditional IRA then doing the roth conversion ladder at ER. I've read a lot about the conversion and was wondering if it worth it for someone that is in the 15% tax bracket now and will be during the conversion?  Plus there's the 5 year wait before I can withdraw it. We will be doing the conversion ladder for our 401ks.

The roth IRA seems to be a good option because the money can grow tax free in the account and we can withdraw the contribution at anytime.  The contribution withdraws will be helpful while we wait the 5 years for the conversion ladder of our 401ks. My only thought is, will just the contributions be enough to cover our expenses for 5 years.  That's why I thought a taxable account might be good since my tax rate is only 15% and then we could withdraw contributions and earnings.

Just looking for advice on which account to invest in? 

Thanks in advance!