Author Topic: Tracking/Budgeting (Need some insights)  (Read 2146 times)

brianhermelijn

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Striving to learn something new everyday.
    • Brian Hermelijn - Designer / Illustrator
Tracking/Budgeting (Need some insights)
« on: June 17, 2017, 06:11:03 PM »
Greetings fellow mustachians, first let me share where I am coming from. I am from Curacao. I am 23 years old, you can call me Brian, our currency is Antillean Guilders and I am a Designer/Artist. You can find link to my stuff on my Forum Profile if interested.

-

First let me note this down :
1 US Dollars ($) = 1.79 Antillean Guilders (FL)

Now I started working last month which is June, but didn't get a full salary because I started in the middle of the month. However now that we're reaching almost the end of this month, I want to start keeping track of things. But I am wondering how in-depth you have to go with money tracking? Because what I had in mind, is more like a general number for accumulated expenses.

I currently live with my parents and the advantage of that is of course I don't have to buy any food unless I want something different, since my parents takes care of that, and any other expenses. (Only one expense which is shared below)

-

I know Mr. Moneymustache mentioned about saving 50 - 60% of your income, but in scenario like Curacao, to even begin doing that, you would need at least an income of 1500$, because things are quite expensive over here, and when we speaking of apartments, especially the ones that comes with electricity/internet/bathroom/good neighborhood, we're speaking in the range of 500$ to 650$

-

So overall my list of expenses would look like so with the general idea I mentioned earlier, and not specifically tracking down what I bought at each store.
Monthly Salary : 1650 FL or 921.79$ (without deducted taxes and other things that gets taken away from a full salary) so lets say roughly it would get down to 1525 FL