Author Topic: Too much education? computer people...?  (Read 4886 times)

resy

• Bristles
Too much education? computer people...?
« on: March 10, 2015, 06:01:03 PM »
Hi,
This is a question regarding my husband's career/school path. I am barely working on my first B.S. so Im still new to a lot of this PLUS his professional interests are very different than mine and since he is the type that I seem to see a lot of here maybe some of you super smart mustachians can help us :)
Long story short:
He has a B.S. In operations management from a good university but when he graduated he couldn't find a decent job in our area so he started his own small service based business 2 years ago. During this time he realized his true passion is computers and he is turned off by business.
He has been back in school a term pursuing a second degree, this time in information technology with an app development emphasis (or whatever its called- can u tell Im so not into computers? Lol).
THE QUESTION IS: is a second b.s. needed? He is really good at this shit, he is smart (4.0) and truly loves computers but we need to be practical as we are paying out of pocket. He is so disappointed with the outcome of his first degree (kinda useless) that he is doubting what path to take.  Does he continue at his current school where he has roughly 1.5 years left to go get the degree (same school he went to before) or would an accelareted postbac program in computer science work (Seems to be our next best option)? Postbac is suuuuper expensive though.
Anyone with experience that might offer some advice?
*edited for typos
« Last Edit: March 10, 2015, 06:12:45 PM by resy »

caliq

• Pencil Stache
Re: Too much education? computer people...?
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2015, 06:13:49 PM »
What school is his degree from/is he at now?

resy

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2015, 06:28:15 PM »
Answered question through pm :)

caliq

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2015, 06:33:33 PM »