Poll

Sell investment property and make $100K to pay off debt or keep it for long term gains and pay down debts using monthly rental income

Sell Property
0 (0%)
Keep Property
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 0

Author Topic: To Sell and Make $100K or Not to Sell  (Read 3764 times)

joshbrand111

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
To Sell and Make $100K or Not to Sell
« on: May 18, 2015, 08:29:42 AM »
I am new to this whole mustachian lifestyle and hoping for some guidance as we work hard to become debt free and minimize our monthly expenditures.  As I work towards this new lifestyle  I am debating whether or not to sell a rental property to pay down personal debt or keep it as a long term investment.  We make a healthy profit on the monthly rent so I am in a bit of a dilemma.  So here is the breakdown and I would appreciate all of your inputs and guidance on the best approach.

Townhome: Currently, I rent our townhome for $1,750/month.  After paying all the bills associated with the property (mortgage, HOAs, etc.) it nets approx $750/month.  I could sell the townhome and make approx $100K on the property.  I have only rented it a year and would not have to pay any capital gains tax on the profit.  The outstanding balance on the rental property is approx $130K at 3.75% interest.

Personal debt:
Primary mortgage: $280,000
Car:  $22,000 total for two cars.  We purchased luxury cars a few years back because we felt we deserved it since we both had long commutes and worked hard for our money (LOL here).  Interest is only 1% on the loans.  I don't think selling them is the best approach right now as I can't get two reliable cars needing little maintenance for less than $11K/each.
Student Loans:  $50K.  Approx.