Author Topic: To Own a Home or Not  (Read 3354 times)

mustachianit

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
To Own a Home or Not
« on: November 16, 2013, 04:06:07 AM »
We currently own a home and the maintenance has been about 2000-4000 a year.  I have been maxing out my 401k and our two roths for two years now.  The issue is IL decided to raise our property taxes so now we are at about $600 a month in property taxes for a modest home.  :(  this change might start hurting our retirement accounts.

I did the math and for the next 4 years if I stopped contributing the max and did much lower amounts and throw all that cash at the house I could have it paid off.   But my stache is not that big right now we only have $120k.  I am 34 and found mmm 2 years ago.  I was a spender before.  I worry those 4 years will prolong us working.

Need help please.  We are considering selling but are confused and do not want to make a huge mistake.

SunshineGirl

• Pencil Stache
Re: To Own a Home or Not
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2013, 09:07:27 AM »
Honestly, I see property tax as a big trap that might come to bite a lot of us over the next decade. Renting provides such flexibility. Rents might also increase as property taxes do, but if you have the ability to move to a different part of the country as job opportunties come and go, you wouldn't have the noose of a home/property taxes/need to sell around your neck.

StarryC

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2013, 10:06:17 AM »
Paying off your home won't actually effect your property taxes, right?  So, I think this is the usual calculation:

What are the returns on your investment accounts?  7%?
What is the interest rate on your mortgage? 4%?
How likely are you to want to move between now and when you would otherwise pay off your mortgage?
Do you think your home would be difficult to sell if priced in a range where you would "break even" or better?