Author Topic: To make a partially mustachian career change now or wait to go full beard?  (Read 8991 times)

dizzean

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi guys,

I am new to the mustachian way, I started back in August on Dave Ramsey's Total Money Makeover and then found this blog/forum.  I have already paid off 2 smaller student loans!

My wife and I are currently transitioning to a more mustachian way of life.

Right now we own 2 cars, one we purchased in September, a 1994 Honda Civic with 96k miles for %2200, it's not fancy but it gets to point a and b and has heat.  Our other car however is from a previous stage in our life, we bought it in April of 2010, it's a 2011 Ford Fiesta with about 34k miles on it, we owe $7500 on it and it's worth about 9k right now.

I currently work 15 miles from home but I want to shave that down to a bikeable/public trans distance.  So my dilemma comes here: do I stay where I am making 40k a year (in a job I enjoy and am salaried) and driving 30 miles a day and owning 2 cars,  do I take a contract job that would let me take the local train making $24 an hour (this would theoretically allow be to sell the Fiesta as I live 6 blocks from the train station in my city and it drops me off 2 miles from the new job), or do I wait until I can find a job close enough to bike to?

I work in IT so I am able to find new work relatively easily.  If I take the train it will cost me $113 a month and right now I think I spend about $100 a month in gas to commute.

I have recently taken up biking, and I really enjoy it, I would probably bike the 2 miles from the train stop to the new job.

Any advice?

I plan on posting my over all monthly budget here shortly to get some more advice on where we can cut some costs.

the fixer

• Handlebar Stache
Re: To make a partially mustachian career change now or wait to go full beard?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2013, 03:40:17 PM »