Author Topic: To go back to school or not go back? That is the question.  (Read 5281 times)

nbuss14

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
To go back to school or not go back? That is the question.
« on: April 10, 2014, 07:00:46 AM »
I would just like to share my story with others as I feel like it might be a little helpful to others who earn way more income than I do an still seem to struggle getting out of debt and/or investing or saving money. I am 25 and I have a very modest salary at this point. I went to college and got my degree in Psychology working as much as I could while in school to offset the costs. I graduated almost three years ago and I just found a job in my field six months ago. Fort the past three years I have been working as a server at a fine local restaurant making a decent amount. I also have the advantage of living with my dad rent free but I am still doing everything I can do get out of debt. When I got my job in my field six months ago my starting salary was 25,316. I also have kept my job as a server to increase the amount I earn to contribute to my debt. Every single penny I have earned at my salaried job has been put towards my student loan debt which is the only debt I have that hovers at around 33,000. I plan to put every single penny I earn there toward that debt until its gone. My other expenses are easily covered by what I earn working as a sever (food, car insurance, gas, phone). These are the only expenses that I allow myself. New clothes, new shoes, or anything else that is not needed is not purchased. If I continue on this plan I will have my debt wiped out in a little over two years. So I guess what gets me is people who earn 100,000k a year and struggle getting out of debt is mind boggling. If I earned that much I would be out of debt well within a year, probably six months. I am following what is written on here. My debt is an emergency and needs to be treated as such. I am certain that I would have been more lackadaisical on these debts if it