Author Topic: To emergency fund, or not  (Read 6264 times)

bryanth

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
To emergency fund, or not
« on: October 30, 2014, 06:04:06 PM »
I am a semi-recent graduate making 50-60k per year as an engineer. Currently I have ~10k in a HYSA netting 0.9%. I am also not worried about any job loss at all, I just got a promotion so things are on the up.  I like having the security of some cash incase I end up relocating in the next couple years, life changes etc.

Do I aim to get this to 15k, leave it, or reduce and invest the rest? Do I keep say 5k in the HYSA and invest the remainder in cds? Any recommendations? I just hate having so much gaining such little interest.

Thanks!

Jags4186

• Pencil Stache
Re: To emergency fund, or not
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2014, 06:24:55 PM »
No reason to tie money up in CDs at current rates.  I only keep about 5k cash on hand in my checking account and I live out of that. If I were you I'd throw 5500 into a Roth IRA and then start maxing out my 401k.

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2014, 06:27:34 PM »
I am a semi-recent graduate making 50-60k per year as an engineer. Currently I have ~10k in a HYSA netting 0.9%. I am also not worried about any job loss at all, I just got a promotion so things are on the up.  I like having the security of some cash incase I end up relocating in the next couple years, life changes etc.

Do I aim to get this to 15k, leave it, or reduce and invest the rest? Do I keep say 5k in the HYSA and invest the remainder in cds? Any recommendations? I just hate having so much gaining such little interest.

Thanks!