Author Topic: Tips/advice on switching from car to bike commuting and encouragement  (Read 6806 times)

castead

• 5 O'Clock Shadow

Husband drives a 2001 Taurus with 250,000 miles that needs extensive repairs to pass inspection and has a lot of cosmetic damage.
I drive a 2007 Grand Cherokee with 80,000 miles and have spent over $5,000 in repairs over the last two years. We recently bought a house in town making it possible to bike.

Husband would need to commute 17.3 miles each way to work. A couple of issues for him: He must be at work at 5:15 am. He is a supervisor (needs to look somewhat presentable), and there are no showers at work. (Summer temp can reach 100 degrees and it is humid.) 

(Buying a house closer to work is not an option as we looked for a year and had no luck when we bought our house last year; also he might switch jobs within the next couple of years.)

I work as an interpreter by appointments all over town (2 miles - 30 miles from home). I am willing to bike as much as I can within close proximity to home. Sometimes my appointments are scheduled back to back and there is no time in between to allow to bike so I cannot get rid of my car. (Ideally I would buy a new used car, but in the condition my car is in I won't get much for it.)

My biggest issue: I am very uncomfortable riding a bike. I would go as far as to say it's terrifying for me to ride among cars. I am hoping to lose the fear as I become a better bike rider, and get in better shape. Having lost two friends in bike accidents (both experienced, one a commuter, the other training for a triathlon), and having my family call me crazy and stupid for wanting to do this does not help with my confidence.

The plan is to get rid of his car, sell it to a salvage yard or something along those lines. Keep my car for now, as we cannot afford to buy a car, and hopefully save enough to buy a used car in the fall so husband doesn't have to commute in winter.