Author Topic: Tips on Negotiating Work from Home Arrangement?  (Read 1400 times)

legalstache

• Stubble
Tips on Negotiating Work from Home Arrangement?
« on: June 03, 2020, 10:34:36 AM »
I've been fortunate to be able to work from home while my office has been closed the last couple months. I've really enjoyed the flexibility and other perks of WFH, and now am considering ways to negotiate the ability to WFH permanently once the COVID crisis ends (assuming my company and job still exist then, of course).

I'd be curious to hear from people who've negotiated WFH roles in their jobs as to how the conversation went. I realize this is probably such a case-by-case thing that general tips may not be that useful, but I think I could benefit from others' perspectives. 

I work in a small office and we don't have a general WFH policy. Before COVID, we had one FTE who worked remotely because she relocated to the other side of the country. She's in a different role than me, though. I'm a lawyer and feel like my value to the company is objectively measurable by my billable hours, which have basically been the same since I started WFH 2 months ago. Otherwise, my company doesn't require a lot of face time. I'm fine coming in for the occasional work or client meeting, but would love if my default could be WFH. I feel like my WFH the past 2 months has been a fairly seamless change in most respects. I'm still in regular contact with my colleagues, clients, etc., but by phone instead of in person.

I would plan to sell this to my superiors as something that allows me to maintain the same level of productivity while giving me additional flexibility. The main inconvenience to them would be having to call/email me instead of seeing me in my office, but that seems like a minor concern, and when I was actually in the office, I could go days without face to face contact with my bosses anyway.