Author Topic: Tips for mastering a foreign language with self study?  (Read 10645 times)

kmb501

• Bristles
Tips for mastering a foreign language with self study?
« on: January 30, 2016, 11:10:11 AM »
I want to become fluent in French or Spanish so that I can become a French or Spanish instructor. I already teach ESL. I've been advised not to go back to school, though. Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm not a beginner, so I think mastering the languages should be pretty easy for me. I'm already at a lower intermediate level from when I took it at school, and I have plenty of opportunities to practice French and Spanish in this area. I just need a good plan. I feel like I could master the languages via watching videos and listening to audiobooks and reading the accompanying transcripts and text and then just choosing a topic of conversation and practicing what I know with native speakers.

Urchina

• Stubble
Re: Tips for mastering a foreign language with self study?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2016, 11:37:11 AM »
You might find the book "Fluent Forever" by Gabriel Wyner to be useful. He lays out methods for language self-study that draw from research on human learning, memory and recall.

EconDiva

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2016, 11:40:11 AM »
Sorry that I can't help but I am subscribing as I would also like to become fluent in Spanish and I know that so far watching soap operas in espanol isn't doing enough for me lol.

tobitonic

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2016, 11:49:10 AM »