Author Topic: Tips for Making an 1100 Square Foot House Work?  (Read 36306 times)

Greg

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Tips for Making an 1100 Square Foot House Work?
« Reply #50 on: November 08, 2015, 08:00:02 AM »
I'll reinforce everyone's advice about stuff, the not-collecting-too-much-of-it part.  Any amount of space will feel small if you fill it.

I was thinking about this earlier when the topic of shopping for furniture came up with family.  I thought about how according to furniture stores, you need a bed with headboard, dresser(s) and bedside tables that all match just to start.  Baloney, I have a bedframe (no headboard) and some small items that function as bedside tables, my side is a large chunk of douglas fir, think wood cube.  Anyway with drawers in the closet this minimalist look means the room is large and spacious feeling.

I do design build for a living and sometimes meet with clients looking to add or remodel their homes to gain more space.  About half the time the problem is more of clutter and organization than actual space.  Kitchens, basements, I've seen and talked to several clients who didn't need to remodel but instead to declutter and get rid of stuff.  It seems to happen most often to parents of older kids, the kids are heading to college but they have too much of their stuff still, and often too much space not too little.

About kids toys, you can keep toy clutter to a minimum by following a couple of simple rules; toys get put away when they're not being played with and also when a new toy is obtained, one gets donated or passed down/on to a relative or friend.  Fewer toys often means more enjoyment from the toys.  Another thing to consider is toys like Plymobil that can be put away into containers.

FIRE me

• Handlebar Stache
  • So much technology, so little talent.
« Reply #51 on: November 08, 2015, 12:41:13 PM »