Author Topic: Tips for Living with Parents/Dealing with Critics  (Read 19247 times)

leenygal

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Tips for Living with Parents/Dealing with Critics
« on: December 19, 2014, 10:23:24 AM »
Hi Mustachians,
Is anyone here a young person working full time but living with parents to save money? If so, does anyone:
1.   Have tips for maintaining independence, sanity, and/or privacy?
2.   Have tips for how to handle others’ criticism?

I'm a 23 year old full time tax accountant. (Sexy, I know.) I graduated a year and a half ago from a university in my home city and started working soon after. Because my college was near my parent’s house, I lived at home for 3 of my 4 years of school. My current firm is only 10 minutes farther away, so I’ve continued living at home as I work full time.

Over the past year, I’ve saved nearly $40,000 (monthly savings plus a big tax refund and an equally big bonus). My savings rate is 80-85%. I have no student loans (thanks to living at home during college and busting my butt for scholarships/full-time summer work), no credit card balances, and a fully paid used car worth about $10k. My goal is to save $100k of liquid cash by age 25 and buy a townhouse/SF house, which I’ll live in for a few years and then turn into a rental property. I’m actively following the market through my metro’s real estate association and am reading everything I can about mortgages, land lording, etc.