Author Topic: Timing the purchase of a new car  (Read 10443 times)

dragonwalker

• Stubble
Timing the purchase of a new car
« on: December 26, 2015, 09:53:29 PM »
I currently drive a 2009 Honda Civic that currently has 60,000 miles, I got it new. The mileage on the car has been pretty consistent throughout. I'm a pretty conservative driver meaning I take it pretty easy on the car and try my best always to go about 60 or so on the freeway and I keep up with all the regular maintenance. I don't drive daily as I tend to normally bike to work.

This may sound petty but recently by which I mean the past year or so I've felt that I've "deserved" more. Right now I'm 27 and been working at a decent job for the past five years and it just seems everyone at work and their mother has gotten new cars. I know that's a terrible premise to get a car. However, I often I feel like I should live a little before I really have to get to practical down the line.

I don't have a family and I don't have any significant other so now's the time (so my coworkers say). I have been looking around and thought perhaps the Acura ILX may not be to insensible. I've thought that even if I were to do this I'd still like to get a 1-2 year old around 20K miles or less so I'm looking at around $20K. The KBB for my car puts it at about $8.5K. I have the ability to just buy it outright or finance, whichever option the dealer might get me the lowest price on.

My main question is, when is the best time to sell a used car during it's lifecycle? I'm not sure if the depreciation over the next few years will really eat into the value or will it plateau at some point? Although I'm looking at a new car I'm still trying to time it so that it makes sense. I have to say it's not even a sure thing I will get one soon.