Author Topic: Time off to travel the world, going on medicaid???  (Read 30151 times)

zing12

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Time off to travel the world, going on medicaid???
« on: September 21, 2014, 09:00:41 AM »
Hi all, long time reader, first time poster.

I am a 26 year old single male CPA living in Ohio. I've been working for 4 years and I'm considering quitting my job and taking some time off to travel, something I've always wanted to do. I'll have my student loans all paid off and some decent savings built up a year from now, so I'm starting to do research on the logistics of taking this trip.

I've spent some time the past few days reading up on health insurance, trying to get a handle on how I would remain covered during this year of international travel.

I looked at just having travel medical insurance but basically what you're covered for with those plans is emergency care in the country you're in, and emergency evacuation to your home country. So if anything catastrophic were to happen, I'd be back in the US and need coverage.

In addition, the Affordable Care Act requires us all to have coverage now. (There are certain exemptions possible if I were to stay out of the country for almost the entire year, and/or make nothing in income... but say I decide to come home after 6 months and start working again, I'm now on the hook for penalties for not being covered for those 6 months.)