Author Topic: tie up savings in 401k/IRA?  (Read 5659 times)

brybot

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
tie up savings in 401k/IRA?
« on: May 17, 2013, 09:12:40 AM »
Hello everyone,

I'm new to MMM. If someone has already asked this, could someone kindly point me to the right thread? In June, I'll start my first job out of grad school. Salary is great, so I'll be able to save a lot. I've been biking for a few years and car free for about a year now. The biking is actually how I ended up hearing of MMM about 2 weeks ago.

Anyway, I was planning to max my 401k and IRA. If I do this, won't my savings be tied up until I hit 59.5? Would I be better off putting all savings elsewhere if I want to try to retire early?

Thanks!

matchewed

• Magnum Stache
Re: tie up savings in 401k/IRA?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2013, 09:39:19 AM »
Search 72t and Roth pipeline.

See this link for a good run down on the (possibly) more popular path.

https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/continue-the-blog-conversation/getting-rich-from-zero-to-hero-in-one-blog-post/

But look around and see what other people are planning on doing. This is just one of many ways.

sdp

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2013, 10:07:14 AM »