Author Topic: Thoughts on website idea  (Read 3794 times)

skklemm

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Thoughts on website idea
« on: March 20, 2014, 07:41:51 PM »
Hello all.  I'm a newbie.  I just finished reading the entire blog this week and I'm in the process of making a lot of changes.  One goal I have is to come up with some side jobs.  I'd love to get some advice/opinions on my big idea.

We moved to our current city 14 months ago.  While attempting to move, I found out this area has VERY little online to help find a rental.  It was a big PITA considering we lived 2 hours away at the time.  I always called it the internet black hole. 

So, I love the idea of creating a website for rentals in the surrounding area.  Let landlords/property managers post listings with pictures and details.  Free access to everyone.  Something along the lines of Craigslist/Zillow/Trulia (if you search all three sites you *might* find a total of 3 or 4 listings).  I'm thinking free access, but advertising.  Maybe Google until it grows a bit, then contact local businesses to sell ad space.  Maybe down the line I could create a premium membership and add FSBO?

I really feel like it's a good idea considering how much we struggled to find a rental. But I'd love to get an outsider's opinion. I know there are already sites out there people could use, but no one does.  I think it's because we are in the middle of nowhere (90 miles from 4 different larger cities). We need one specifically for this area. Maybe it just takes the right person (me!) to turn it into a success.

What do you think? Badass or flop?
Also, I just signed up at Treehouse.  Am I in over my head thinking I could create something like this?  Any advice from web developers/designers would be appreciated.

Thanks all!

iris lily

• Walrus Stache
Re: Thoughts on website idea
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2014, 08:22:25 PM »
So if Craiglist already exists for this area and no one uses it, why would they use your site?