Author Topic: Thoughts on Job Hopping to increase Income?  (Read 7924 times)

TimmyTightWad

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Thoughts on Job Hopping to increase Income?
« on: May 21, 2015, 03:06:21 PM »
Hi all,

I'm in my early 30s and  have been working for about 10 years. I have been a software engineer for the last 4 of those years.
I'm working for my 5th company over that span, so that's an average of 2 yrs at each job. Save for the time I switched careers (took a 15k paycut) each job change has netted me between 10-17k in additional yearly income. I've been at my current job for a year and half making the most I've ever made and I'm already thinking about leaving to get another 10k+ raise.
A couple of points to add context to my situation:
  • There is the perception that there is ageism in the IT world. I'm in my early 30s and have only been working in this industry for 4 yrs, I have no idea how long before I'm too "old" to get hired somewhere. Because of this I think I need to accelerate my earning potential as quickly as possible. On the plus side I'm African American, we only make up <5% of the software engineers or something like that. I get the feeling most of the ppl I work with don't know many AA. I routinely hear ppl saying they thought I was 25 yr old even though I don't look young (bald head, dadbod etc). 
  • I work in the mid Atlantic region mostly in the bank/pharma industries. I have a genuine interest in technology and software development.....but could care less about the companies/industries I work in. In other words I have minimal loyalty
  • Because I had a recent shift in my career I think I could easily scrub my resume/linkedin to essentially erase the first half of the last decade.
  • I only leave companies for more money, for the most part I'm satisfied with the work that I do and the people I work with