Author Topic: This car is killing me!  (Read 5657 times)

agent_black

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
This car is killing me!
« on: August 30, 2013, 04:35:31 PM »
Hello Mustachians,

This is my first post, so Ill give you all some background.  I work as a mechanic.  I hate it but it pays the bills.  I recently decided that I would give real estate a try.  Lots of people get rich doing that, but with school I just really don't have the time and didn't want to accept that.  I bought a rather nice car, a 2012 Hyundai Sonata because it would be presentable for my new-found work vs the riced out 99 Corolla that my girlfriend is now driving.  and now on to the point....

I don't use this car nearly as much as I thought I would, because I don't do much real estate, and without the real estate income I can't really afford the car.  Truth be told, I don't even want a car.  I work 14 miles from where I live so I don't pedal,  but I still ride.  I am pretty much convinced that as long as I have a motorcycle and computer to rent cars on relayrides I don't even need a car. 

The problem is, I financed the car and I owe more than its worth.  Is it possible to trade down, or sell it for whatever it sells for and make payments until I'm free?  I really don't know how to fix this but I know my Mustacian journey cannot begin with this $305 car payment hanging over my head, not to mention insurance.

I know I screwed up, but how do I fix it?

gooki

• Magnum Stache
    • My FIRE journal
Re: This car is killing me!
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2013, 05:35:24 PM »
Sell it and pay back what's left.

kendallf

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2013, 06:01:07 PM »
Most banks won't give you the title for a sale unless it's paid in full.  Your best option may be to save as much as possible for the short term until you can afford to make up the difference between what you owe and what it will sell for.

agent_black

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2013, 04:50:29 AM »