Author Topic: Thinking of a side gig - don't know how to start  (Read 5543 times)

irishbear99

• Bristles
Thinking of a side gig - don't know how to start
« on: January 06, 2015, 05:13:23 PM »
I make jewelry and crafts as a hobby and people have said repeatedly that they like my work and I should sell it. I've been kicking around the idea lately in part to try to make some extra money, but mainly because my production rate has become prolific and there's not enough space to keep everything I make. The problem is I have no business experience and no idea how to start. My main job can be highly time-intensive, so doing something online like Etsy would be ideal. But surely it can't be as easy as signing up, posting your stuff and watching the orders roll in. If anyone has suggested reading material (or just suggestions) on how to set up and market a side gig, I would much appreciate it!

gimp

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Thinking of a side gig - don't know how to start
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2015, 05:18:12 PM »
It is that easy, except orders won't really roll in because there are a million other people selling similar things for similar prices. That's where advertising and word of mouth come in. How you do that ... not my area of expertise.

Zarya

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2015, 05:34:05 AM »
I think you should just try Etsy. I know people use that for any level  of business (including someone whose school-age son sells his homemade greeting cards there) and they seem to like it. That would help you get your feet wet, anyway, and you could look into next steps if it isn't profitable or if you want to go in a different direction.

kpd905

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2015, 05:37:31 AM »
The beginning will probably be slow on Etsy, but once you start getting positive reviews from buyers, I think your items start showing up higher in the search results.

Mr. Frugalwoods

• Bristles
    • Frugalwoods