Author Topic: The Unexpected  (Read 10892 times)

Mike Key

• Stubble
  • Entrepreneur & Adventure Seeker
    • Tiny House - Big Backyard
The Unexpected
« on: March 27, 2012, 12:25:00 PM »
As some know, I've been an freelance developer for some time. Last week at the end of a job, I got paid and the owner proceeded to tell me about a postion that was opening up. He then made me a offer on the spot. An offer so tempting it made me reconsider being a freelancer. I came home, told my wife, we thought about it, and I accepted it the next day. I'm starting a real job on April 2nd.

Actually it will be nice, I've been over stressed lately dealing with clients directly and trying to find more and more work, which is cutting into my personal time, especially since I have a lot of other things going on in my life. It's really kind of annoying to have a client blow up your phone when you are on a date with your wife. And generally people seem to disrespect my time. They think because I'm a developer, I must always be sitting infront of my computer. Anyways, end of rant.

So ya, new job.

Enter new problem. Biking my way to health and wealth isn't going to work for now.

This job is located further than my wife's job. And as you know, I sold my car only last month, lol.

Life is funny. I attempted a test ride yesterday and it didn't go well. Not only was I covered in sweat, but it was just too far with some scary intersections. The location doesn't have a great restroom I could use to change or freshen up, and who wants to start work completely worn out? Going into the Florida summer months too, this isn't looking good.

The real solution is me, and my wife need to move, closer to our jobs. Thank God, we are renting right now and didn't buy our first year in FL. But we'll have to stay put till Aug when the lease runs out.