Author Topic: The Loneliness of Being a Mustachian  (Read 5863 times)

joet86

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
The Loneliness of Being a Mustachian
« on: September 12, 2012, 05:45:32 PM »
Hello fellow Mustachians,

Ever since growing a Mustache, I have felt more and more isolated from society. Has anyone else experienced this? I am a single guy who enjoys being with friends and the occasional date, but I feel more and more like an outcast with all of my relationships. It's hard to find others who enjoy the simpler (and cheaper) things in life, except in this online community. What to do?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: The Loneliness of Being a Mustachian
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2012, 05:52:57 PM »
Sorry to hear that.

It can be tough if the people around you value monetary spending.

Try to find some activities and hobbies that are done cheaply, and connect with those type of people who enjoy those things.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

kisserofsinners

• Bristles
    • Monkey wants a house
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2012, 06:09:31 PM »
That sucks, I'm sorry you're having trouble adjusting socially.

It sounds to me like you don't like doing the things you liked to do, but your filters for selecting companions hasn't quite caught up. The structure that holds us as consumers is very large and complicated, but it can totally be removed.