Author Topic: The house is cold. What should I bake today?  (Read 3574 times)

Poundwise

• Handlebar Stache
The house is cold. What should I bake today?
« on: October 17, 2017, 06:57:52 AM »
It's 62 degrees in the house and our furnace is turned off.  I forget why, but I'm disinclined to call husband at work to ask, and even more disinclined to go to the crawl space to turn it on.

However it is chilly enough that I should probably warm the house up a bit until the sun rises higher.  Feeling sluggish and uninspired... any suggestions on something to bake? Only one kid is home (the three year old). I'm a pretty good baker and have all sorts of obscure ingredients lying around. Nothing too elaborate, just something that will kickstart the day and will still be good later in the day, or freezes well.

StarBright

• Magnum Stache
Re: The house is cold. What should I bake today?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2017, 07:05:41 AM »
Yes! Some sort of cozy, fall inspired muffin or cinnamon bread if you are a bread person.

Laura33

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2017, 07:17:06 AM »
Get some bread dough going.  Then turn the oven on and make biscuits or scones for breakfast.  Then the oven will be on when the bread is ready to go on, and you get hours of warmth and days of yumminess. :-)

lizzzi

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2017, 07:32:38 AM »
Got any apples? Make an apple crumb. Easier than pie, quick, good to eat warm, and will freeze well.

Poundwise

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2017, 07:44:55 AM »
Get some bread dough going.  Then turn the oven on and make biscuits or scones for breakfast.  Then the oven will be on when the bread is ready to go on, and you get hours of warmth and days of yumminess. :-)

There! That's what I need to do. I want some nice yeasted bread but house is too cold for dough to rise. But if I do something else first the house will be warm enough.

I'll start a hot cross buns dough