Author Topic: The good 'ol "Asking for a Raise" question  (Read 4222 times)

~Ari~

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
The good 'ol "Asking for a Raise" question
« on: April 21, 2016, 02:18:28 PM »
I realize this question has been asked a billion times, but I truly would like some mustachian help on this.

I have been at my current job for almost two years as an office assistant part time (25-30 hrs a week - $12.00 hr). I got the job right after I graduated Tech school and moved to a different town - I am 23 if that helps at all. I just recently accepted a different position with the same small business company and have become their Communications and Marketing Coordinator working full time (40-45hr a week). I have an associates of arts degree in liberal education, but that is all. I did not go to school for any communications, marketing, advertising, etc. But, the company I work for has been great, and they wanted me to fill the position as they like me working for them. My coworkers are all in their upper 30s or older, and they wanted a younger mind like mine to do the advertising and technology side of things. There was talk of me getting a raise (never said how much) a while back ago once I started the position, but that was it - it didn't go any further than that. Now that I have filled the position, I was hoping that I would get the raise, but nothing has happened.

I do feel like a fish out of water with my new work load, but I am learning quickly and like it a lot. I definitely know I shouldn't expect to get paid as much as someone who has a degree in the field or that has more experience, but would still like some advice on how to go about asking them for it and how much of a raise is appropriate?

I appreciate any input. Thank you

coolistdude

• Stubble
    • Retirement Tree (Same One I Use):
Re: The good 'ol "Asking for a Raise" question
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2016, 02:30:41 PM »