Author Topic: The best all around Bike  (Read 13783 times)

usmarine1975

The best all around Bike
« on: August 19, 2014, 01:34:44 PM »
Ok so I realize this is going to get a lot of answers or I imagine it will.  But what is the best overall bike.  I am new to biking, never really got into it.  I have been trolling CL and looking elsewhere.  I am currently riding a Huffy that I got for free.  Seems to be ok so far for what I have ridden.  I have a Schwinn Clear Creek that needs new tires and some other gear that I am hoping next week to get repaired at the local recycle bicycle place.

I am now in the place in which I have seen different bikes and am like ok, I really don't know what I am looking for.  Some say don't buy the target store brands etc... And the prices seem to be all over the map on different bikes.  I am not looking to immediately replace the Huffy as it seems to be working fine, just curious at this point.

zinnie

• Pencil Stache
Re: The best all around Bike
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2014, 01:51:43 PM »
It mostly depends on what you are using it for, but for a good-quality hybrid I like the Trek FX series. I use it both to commute around town carrying stuff and to take longer rides where I want to be relatively fast. They make them in men's and womens--I have the 7.3 FX WSD and it is a fantastic bike. Compared to comparably-priced bikes in other brands I think Trek is a really good deal: quality components, nice shifting, durable, you can take it on roads and light trails, etc. They start in the mid-400s new and high end is 1500s, though I see a lot of nice models on Craigslist in the 300 and 400-dollar range.

Site: http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/town/fitness/fx/

fallstoclimb

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2014, 02:17:05 PM »
I'd wait until you have a better idea of what kind of bike you actually want, since you have no idea now.