Author Topic: The age-old newbie question: Student Loans  (Read 5374 times)

nonostash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
The age-old newbie question: Student Loans
« on: December 01, 2012, 12:43:40 PM »
Hi - Newbie here! :)  Been reading for a couple weeks and I'm excited about what the future holds for me and my husband. 

A little background: we started becoming aware of our age (32) and wreck of a financial situation and decided to do something about it.  We found Dave Ramsey's baby steps and have had success there, paying off about $12k in back taxes and CC debt in the past 9 months.  Our income has increased over this time and our spending has decreased (some - still have highly antimustachian commute, that I always realized was crazy, but now know is absolutely insane - working on this) so our rate of paying off debt has increased over that time.

We are working like crazy to pay off:
~ $14k in CC debt by June 2013
~ $14k in 2 car loans by Dec 2013

which will leave us with:
~ $20k in student loans (all at 2.39%)

I currently have 7% mandatory retirement contributions into public employee retirement system.  Other than that I have about $5k in an old 401k.  Hubby has no retirement savings.  We have a $1500 EF while paying off debt.

One of the aspects of the Dave Ramsey plan that leaves me wanting something more is the "pay off all debt, build a 3-6 month EF" BEFORE you begin saving for retirement.  My Math brain tells me this may not be the best plan for us, being almost 33 and virtually no 'stash.

So, I am thinking we should pay off the CC's & cars ASAP and then get maybe 2 months expenses saved, then split efforts between saving and paying off SL. 

Does that sound right?  Let me know if you need other info, I'll happily provide, just know that we are still very antimustachian at several levels (grocery, gas for commute, fun money), but we're making progress every month in killing debt and trying to reduce expenses.

Thanks in advance!

chicagomeg

• Handlebar Stache