Author Topic: Terrible job situation - advice needed  (Read 14069 times)

ashley

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Terrible job situation - advice needed
« on: December 28, 2013, 11:41:08 AM »
I work as a compliance manager at a small mortgage lender. I've been with this company for 2.5 years. I'm making $37k a year, and I really think my job is worth more than this, but I had to literally threaten to quit (~6 months ago) in order to get my last pay increase. But that's beside the point. I'm single and my income is more than I even need to meet my living expenses. I have no debt.

The boss is a sociopath (no exaggeration) and is slowly driving people away. He just dropped a big pay cut on the loan officers last week, and now a couple of them are talking about splitting off to start their own brokerage (they've done this previously and only joined our current company because they thought it would be a good opportunity - not the case). I could potentially go with them and be an assistant of sorts, as well as manage their compliance. It would be strictly commission and probably a huge pay cut at first, and probably a 40 minute commute each way (currently my drive is only 10 minutes). I have $20k+ in the bank and could float along on that if needed, but it's scary to think about not having much of a paycheck for a while. My lease expires in July, and I'd consider moving closer to the new office at that time. The new company/job is hypothetical at this point, but I think there's a very good chance of it happening. If things go well, I think I would be earning at least what I earn currently, and potentially more. And I'd be working with people I like and respect (and who respect me!), rather than a complete lunatic.  But it's definitely a risk.