Author Topic: Tennis Ball Machine. Worth it?  (Read 4045 times)

bnadz

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Tennis Ball Machine. Worth it?
« on: February 05, 2018, 06:44:22 PM »
I was wondering if anyone thinks buying a tennis ball machine is worth it?

I am a relative novice and I hate hitting with my girlfriend because she is pretty good and I feel like my lack of ability to rally could be detrimental to her game, also I am sure it is not as much fun for her to play with someone of my caliber.

Which brings me to my dilemma. The only way I will get better is to play more but it is hard to find partners of similar strength. I could also get a membership to a gym/tennis club for $150+ a month. So I ask, anyone who has or has had a tennis ball machine, was it worth it? It seems the one I would like is around $1500.

I know I could find more Mustachian types of activities but I have loved tennis ever since the first time I played.

FrugalToque

• Global Moderator
  • Pencil Stache
Re: Tennis Ball Machine. Worth it?
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2018, 07:14:54 PM »
I've gotta go with "no way"?

$1500 is a heck of a lot of money.  Maybe, if you're already a millionaire and you're set for life with no financial worries at all (You already have a house paid for, no worries about transportation etc.)  Then you could blow money on recreational projectile devices.  Until then, $1500 is "a mortgage payment", "a good part of a user car" or a nice, tidy sum to chuck into your retirement account.

You have to ask, is that machine really going to get you the same $1500 worth of happiness and fulfillment that the 3 options I mentioned above could get you?  If not, it's a definitely no-go.

Continue to play tennis, find out if the girlfriend is really that annoyed with having to play with you while you learn, find others to practice with if necessary.

Toque.

Zamboni

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2018, 07:32:10 PM »
Well, that depends.