Author Topic: Tell me your story about totally changing careers  (Read 7631 times)

Carini

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Tell me your story about totally changing careers
« on: March 04, 2015, 06:24:56 PM »
37 years old. I work in Higher Education as an administrator. The pay is pretty horrendous considering I have a Master's Degree.  I'm trying to think of other careers that I might have the transferable skills for. I've been at the same college for 8 years. The job is stressful at times, but not a terrible gig. I'm just not passionate about it at all. I'm really passionate about brewing beer and I even turned that passion into a 2 year consulting job with a start up brew pub, but that has come to an end. I've been hired by another pub that is in the process of getting going, but it is very part-time and just a couple hundred bucks a month at this point.

I have 3 young kids, so jumping full time into this new brewpub (which I have the option of doing) seems too risky right now. I don't make a lot, but it's A LOT more than I would see out of this place for the first few years, not to mention that opening a restaurant/brewpub is about as risky as a small business can get. 

I realize that I somehow made this post into 2 separate questions, but let's get back to me jumping into some other career with more stability than operating a brew pub. How do I go about really searching for other careers/fields that I might be able to get into without a lot of direct experience?  My main specialty in Higher Education is working with students that have disabilities.  The other thing I've considered for the last few years and probably should have just given it a shot, is working on the side as an Educational Consultant or Academic Coach for students with disabilities. There is actually a lot of money possible if you know what you're doing.

Thanks in advance. 

jml2307

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Tell me your story about totally changing careers
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2015, 08:04:55 PM »